Thu Feb 13

The nominations for the Broadcasting Press Guild TV Awards have been announced. Suranne Jones is up for ‘Best Actress’ for her role in GENTLEMAN JACK (BBC/HBO) and DERRY GIRLS, starring Jamie-Lee O’Donnell and Ian McElhinney, has received a nod in the ‘Best Comedy’ catagory.

This year’s shortlists are dominated by women’s stories in drama, comedy and factual programmes. They include documentaries about Margaret Thatcher, Jade Goody and the female experience of war (For Sama); dramas Catherine The Great, Gentleman Jack and Elizabeth is Missing; and returning comedies Fleabag, Derry Girls and Mum.

This year, programmes which were shown first online are nominated and voted for alongside broadcast channel commissions originating in the UK. Programmes which win in the Non-PSB (public service broadcasting) categories in the first round of voting, then compete with streaming and PSB shows.

The winners will be announced at the 46th BPG Awards lunch at Banking Hall in the City of London on Friday March 13th 2020.

The full list of nominees:

Best Single Documentary/Mini-Series

For Sama (C4)

Jade: The Reality Star Who Changed Britain (C4)

Leaving Neverland (C4 + HBO)

The Brexit Storm: Laura Kuenssberg’s Inside Story (BBC Two)

Best Documentary Series

Damien Lewis: Spy Wars (A & E Networks)

Seven Worlds, One Planet (BBC One)

Spotlight on the Troubles: A Secret History (BBC One)

Thatcher: A Very British Revolution (BBC Two)

The Repair Shop (BBC One)

Best Single Drama/Mini-Series

Catherine the Great (Sky Atlantic)

Elizabeth is Missing (BBC One)

Guilt (BBC Two)

The Virtues (C4)

Best Drama Series

Chernobyl (Sky Atlantic + HBO)

Giri/Haji (BBC Two)

The Capture (BBC One)

World on Fire (BBC One)

Years and Years (BBC One)

Best Comedy

Brassic (Sky One)

Derry Girls Series 2 (C4)

Fleabag Series 2 (BBC Three + Amazon Prime Video)

Gavin and Stacey Christmas Special (BBC One)

Mum Series 3 (BBC Two)

Best Entertainment

The Graham Norton Show (BBC One)

Michael McIntyre’s Big Show (BBC One)

Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing Series 2 (BBC Two)

Ru Paul’s Drag Race UK (BBC Three)

Taskmaster (Dave)

Best Actress

Emily Watson – Chernobyl

Lesley Manville – Mum Series 3/World on Fire

Glenda Jackson – Elizabeth is Missing

Suranne Jones – Gentleman Jack

Best Actor

Andrew Scott – Fleabag/Black Mirror

Jared Harris – Chernobyl

Ncuti Gatwa – Sex Education

Stephen Graham – The Virtues/Line of Duty Series 5/A Christmas Carol

Best Writer

Craig Mazin – Chernobyl

Jack Thorne – His Dark Materials/The Virtues

Joe Barton – Giri/Haji

Phoebe Waller Bridge – Fleabag Series 2

Russell T Davies – Years and Years

BPG Breakthrough Award

Erin Doherty – The Crown Series 3

Ncuti Gatwa – Sex Education

Youssef Kerkour – Home/Criminal/Sex Education/Gavin and Stacey Christmas Special


  • ✨ @liviaswann returns to #LegendsOfTomorrow as 'Astra' becomes a series reg https://t.co/z5rPX7LI2D
    22 hours ago
  • #CliveRussell stars as 'Willie' in new real-time comedy #Semi-Detached from tonight | 10pm | @BBCTwo Catch up on… https://t.co/YdHQahc0mw
    2 days ago
  • There's another chance to watch 3-part drama #TinaAndBobby, with @jamquinn as 'DI John Harper' Based on the memo… https://t.co/rsFSVNcfGa
    3 days ago
  • Coming soon to @netflix #YoungWallander with #ElhamEhsas @zoradzo cast by @SophHollandCast https://t.co/HEGhn27Nxa
    3 days ago
  • Raising funds for @StopWatchUK 150 West End and Broadway performers including @teejaye84 @joeaaronreid @KayiUshe… https://t.co/jtJSjH0Wf6
    2 weeks ago